Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
10-20-2020 -- 01:01:27

Login with username, password and session length

Top 10 Posters

flew-da-coup (1303)
Hawaii596 (1015)
USMCPMEL (856)
griff61 (580)
Hoopty (548)
docbyers (544)
MIRCS (535)
CalLabSolutions (521)
PMEL_DEVIL-DOG (509)
Thraxas (498)
Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 19243
  • Total Topics: 3646
  • Online Today: 64
  • Online Ever: 242
  • (04-19-2014 -- 19:20:34)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 57
Total: 57


Author Topic: CSA8000 OS Restore disk  (Read 5278 times)

Offline masseyw1

  • Pinger
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Action Taken: +0/-0
    • Email
CSA8000 OS Restore disk
« on: 01-27-2015 -- 14:01:45 »
I am currently looking for a copy of the OS restore disk for a Tektronix CSA8000 Communication Analyzer. They released these units with one of two operating systems, Windows 98 and windows 2000. I have the windows 98 version and I am hanging up on the Tektronix splash screen when it is opening up the application software for the analyzer. Other than that it boots up into windows but when tek released these they built the .exe file into the OS so in order to correct the application I have to restore the OS. I have tried to do just the firmware to no avail. If anyone can help me out it would be greatly appreciated! thanks for your time.

Offline teddycruger

  • Pinger
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Action Taken: +0/-0
Re: CSA8000 OS Restore disk
« Reply #1 on: 11-28-2015 -- 00:48:22 »
Did you every have any luck with this, I am experience the exact same problem (hung up on the splash screen).

Offline Top Gun Test

  • Pinger
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Action Taken: +0/-0
  • USAF Lowry 32490
Re: CSA8000 OS Restore disk
« Reply #2 on: 04-23-2016 -- 16:24:23 »
Hi Guys
Its not the OS and its not the firmware , its the VXworks that has gone south on the IP
 address for the backplane and ect . You need to hpyper link to the unit . Yep its tricky
 but can be done with a simple usb to DB9 and the windows XP hyper terminal on a comm port , Yep a external laptop is required to look at the VXworks script and modify
 while running .

Offline silv3rstr3

  • 5-level
  • ***
  • Posts: 211
  • Action Taken: +7/-2
  • USMC (6492) Precision Measurement Equipment Chief
    • Email
Re: CSA8000 OS Restore disk
« Reply #3 on: 04-25-2016 -- 09:49:53 »
Is that the same for Tektronix logic analyzers and o-scopes?  Had a few recently that after restoring the OS and Tek software they still would error out opening the Tek software.
“They are in front of us, behind us, and we are flanked on both sides by an enemy that out numbers us 29:1. They can’t get away from us now!!”
-Chesty Puller

Offline Top Gun Test

  • Pinger
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Action Taken: +0/-0
  • USAF Lowry 32490
Re: CSA8000 OS Restore disk
« Reply #4 on: 05-07-2016 -- 13:31:36 »
Yes on windows 2000 stuff it is usually as such, the battery of the NVram dies and loses the IP and start
 up script for VX works . So basically the unit doesnt know how to address the ACQ and other boards and ect . So it  stalls at the Tek start up screen for the Oscope or Logic Analyzer . It gets confusing but if explained it makes sense . Alot of units are put out to pasture for this simple problem . Its a pain to rip the unit apart , so a usual I get rid of the Windows 2000 OS and upgrade to a Windows XP with replacing the
 CPU and HD and then do the NVram and Hpyer Link to the VXworks to reprogram the script for start up .
 Sounds complicated but its really not . 
 

Offline silv3rstr3

  • 5-level
  • ***
  • Posts: 211
  • Action Taken: +7/-2
  • USMC (6492) Precision Measurement Equipment Chief
    • Email
Re: CSA8000 OS Restore disk
« Reply #5 on: 05-09-2016 -- 14:05:58 »
I've fixed a bunch of older o-scopes by replacing the 3V RAM battery internally.  Those just wouldn't boot up at all though.  What do you alter in the script to reprogram it through hyper terminal?  Or is there documentation I can reference to fix these from here on out?
“They are in front of us, behind us, and we are flanked on both sides by an enemy that out numbers us 29:1. They can’t get away from us now!!”
-Chesty Puller

Offline Top Gun Test

  • Pinger
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Action Taken: +0/-0
  • USAF Lowry 32490
Re: CSA8000 OS Restore disk
« Reply #6 on: 05-15-2016 -- 14:02:06 »
Hi
You can search on the web under Tektronixs VXworks and you will find some good script for it .
The later XP Tektronix will dump the info back into the NVram for the script , but the windows 2000
 you have to do manually via a Hyper Terminal . So thats where I would start looking , there are some
 nice project files on the web .

 

DISCLAIMER:  This site is not an official US Air Force site, it is intended for private use only.  It is not endorsed, in any way, by the US Air Force, the DoD, or any other governmental agency.  Additionally, all information found within this site is just that, it is NOT meant to be used in place of authorized publications.


All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.

All forum content is the property of the respective poster, all the rest © 2004-2017 by PMEL Forum.