PMEL Forum

K Sections => K3/4 - Waveform Analysis & RF Generation => Topic started by: Evlah on 03-23-2018 -- 09:53:24

Title: Keysight PSA E4446A Align_rough_Calgains
Post by: Evlah on 03-23-2018 -- 09:53:24
Hello,

After repair of a Keysight E4446A spectrum analyzer, upon initial power on I get a "Align_rough_Calgains" alignment error.

Clearing the errors and performing system align/align all
completes successfully and the spectrum passes all performance verification tests.

Upon shutting off the analyzer and turning it back on the error reappears.

I went back and cleared calibration constants from boards affected by the repair and performed all alignments listed in the TME software application which passed.

Again the issue persists.
 
Anyone ever come across this alignment error on the Keysight PSA series?


Any assistance is greatly appreciated.



 
Title: Re: Keysight PSA E4446A Align_rough_Calgains
Post by: TAW on 03-23-2018 -- 11:57:24
Might want to check internal battery; the memory holds the cal constants
Title: Re: Keysight PSA E4446A Align_rough_Calgains
Post by: Evlah on 03-23-2018 -- 12:28:23
Hi, thanks for the input but unfortunately already tried that.
Title: Re: Keysight PSA E4446A Align_rough_Calgains
Post by: flew-da-coup on 03-26-2018 -- 15:57:40
If you are using the Keysight alignment software you have to go start to finish. I had this error years ago with an E4440. Not sure if that is your issue, but it was for me.
Title: Re: Keysight PSA E4446A Align_rough_Calgains
Post by: Evlah on 03-27-2018 -- 08:39:44
Hello,

Yes, I performed all the alignments in series as listed in the application.

Weird thing is, I left the PSA unplugged over the weekend and Monday when I plugged it in and turned it on it went through the alignments no problem.

I then went ahead and unplugged it again for a half hour or so and it again passed alignments when I powered it up again.

Then I left it in Standby for a while and upon powering it on I got the same error. After that no matter if I unplug it or not the error persists.

I am starting to find this amusing.
All Keysight support was able to tell me was send it into service.... :|
Title: Re: Keysight PSA E4446A Align_rough_Calgains
Post by: PurelyNonsense on 03-27-2018 -- 10:21:13
I am starting to find this amusing.
All Keysight support was able to tell me was send it into service.... :|
That's all you'll get from Keysight. I asked their advice on another E Series spectrum analyzer and they said, in a screw you sort of way, they will not provide any advice what so ever for ANY problem. They only want you to send it in. BUT they are a business and service/calibration is part of that, so I kind of understand.
As far as the spectrum analyzer is concerned, I'm wondering if there is something wrong with the memory itself. It could be an intermittent failure on some of the chips. Without seeing the unit in front of me or having the experience behind me, I can't guarantee that, it's just what I've seen in other pieces. Good luck!
Title: Re: Keysight PSA E4446A Align_rough_Calgains
Post by: WestCoastCal on 03-27-2018 -- 14:59:11
This is my note from several years ago "When the battery dies, the following instrument settings will revert to their factory defaults: GPIB address, Remote Language, Auto Alignment, Power on Preset, Time and Date. Also, when the battery dies, the instrument will give the following message upon boot up to indicate that the calibration data was restored from EEPROM: +609, Restoration of NVRAM data".
I'm not sure how accurate it is as I got the info 3rd hand....Have at it!
Title: Re: Keysight PSA E4446A Align_rough_Calgains
Post by: flew-da-coup on 03-27-2018 -- 15:56:45
Hello,

Yes, I performed all the alignments in series as listed in the application.

Weird thing is, I left the PSA unplugged over the weekend and Monday when I plugged it in and turned it on it went through the alignments no problem.

I then went ahead and unplugged it again for a half hour or so and it again passed alignments when I powered it up again.

Then I left it in Standby for a while and upon powering it on I got the same error. After that no matter if I unplug it or not the error persists.

I am starting to find this amusing.
All Keysight support was able to tell me was send it into service.... :|

That is odd. I am curious to what you find out. Please keep us updated if you figure it out. Sorry I couldn't help more.