* * *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
09-20-2018 -- 02:26:17

Login with username, password and session length

Top 10 Posters

flew-da-coup (1302)
Hawaii596 (994)
USMCPMEL (836)
griff61 (562)
Hoopty (547)
docbyers (544)
MIRCS (535)
PMEL_DEVIL-DOG (509)
Thraxas (498)
CalLabSolutions (488)
Members
  • Total Members: 3346
  • Latest: oraha
Stats
  • Total Posts: 18849
  • Total Topics: 3460
  • Online Today: 69
  • Online Ever: 242
  • (04-19-2014 -- 19:20:34)
Users Online
Users: 1
Guests: 53
Total: 54

Author Topic: National Instruments Software  (Read 2577 times)

Offline briansalomon

  • 5-level
  • ***
  • Posts: 222
  • Action Taken: +4/-1
    • Email
National Instruments Software
« on: 08-30-2017 -- 20:29:54 »
I'm looking for feedback regarding National Instruments software (NIMAX, NIDAQmx) used to operate the NI modular products.

I've put quite a few hours into trying to get the software to work but have seen limited success. My PCs all meet the minimum requirement.

Their customer support is able to help each time but it's time consuming and the problems are ongoing.

Has anyone been successful with this software?

Offline CalMachine

  • Pinger
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Action Taken: +0/-0
    • Email
Re: National Instruments Software
« Reply #1 on: 08-31-2017 -- 18:17:14 »
We use it here at ENI.  We have many issues with PCI Bus drivers and need to re-image the HD on a regular basis.  It is disappointing how inefficient using their software can be.  Their VISA doesn't play nicely with Keysight's VISA either...  I won't even mention how terrible calexecutive is!  In all honesty, I would steer clear of anything NI

Offline CalLabSolutions

  • Global Moderator
  • 5-level
  • *****
  • Posts: 488
  • Action Taken: +5/-2
    • Cal Lab Solutions
    • Email
Re: National Instruments Software
« Reply #2 on: 09-01-2017 -- 02:30:08 »
We write & support a lot of automation around the PXI hardware from several manufacturers including NI.

My first advice is read the manual... Then read it again... Software based instruments are very different than the typical GPIB instruments.  You will have both Metrology Skills and REAL programming or IT support skills.

If you have more specifics I may be able to help.

Mike
Michael L. Schwartz
Automation Engineer
Cal Lab Solutions
  Web -  http://www.CalLabSolutions.com
Phone - 303.317.6670

Offline Hawaii596

  • 7-level
  • ****
  • Posts: 994
  • Action Taken: +16/-3
Re: National Instruments Software
« Reply #3 on: 09-01-2017 -- 13:33:48 »
I use NIMAX etc. quite a bit.  From a metrologist who is not a programmer perspective, my take is that it is very fussy. There are lots and lots of compatibility details.  There is definitely such a thing as using a rev that is too new (I have experienced that).  Many of the PXI cards may rely upon multiple software modules, and they all have to be mutually compatible. I have spent as much as a couple of weeks (or more) getting all of the right rev software combination installed. There are some of the modules where you have to be sure all of the hardware is compatible as well. We bought a used PXI chassis with a controller with a little older architecture computer.  I had to backdate all of my software revs to make the computer talk with the PXI cards.  I am more or less the PXI and VXI "guru" of my lab, and I am in no way an expert.  If you want to send some of the particulars via msg, send one, we can exchange email addresses, and I can ask some more detailed questions.  No guarantees.
"I often say that when you can measure what you are speaking about, and express it in numbers, you know something about it; but when you cannot measure it, when you cannot express it in numbers, your knowledge is of a meagre and unsatisfactory kind."
Lord Kelvin (1824-1907)
from lecture to the Institute of Civil Engineers, 3 May 1883

Offline briansalomon

  • 5-level
  • ***
  • Posts: 222
  • Action Taken: +4/-1
    • Email
Re: National Instruments Software
« Reply #4 on: 09-02-2017 -- 20:26:57 »
I haven't been recording the software or driver versions involved but the problem is simply maintaining functionality of the NImax/NIDACmx over time.

I am operating a simple 9174 chassis with various modules sent in for calibration. I have been downloading the operating software/drivers from the NI site and configuring them with help from NI tech support which is usually effective enough to get the system functioning again.

The problem is that over the past year more than 75% of the time, when I plug a module into the chassis the software fails to function. I haven't recorded the NImax/NIDACmx or driver versions I have used.

I estimate I've put over 30 hours into this effort. I'm not very advanced but I have had success installing/configuring other software and I eventually resolve the issues (with help from tech support) and the systems remain functional.

If there are any tricks that might make this software easier to use I am interested.  Has anyone found a way this software can be used without significant time expended maintaining it?

Offline flew-da-coup

  • 9-level
  • *****
  • Posts: 1302
  • Action Taken: +17/-24
  • Missing in Action
Re: National Instruments Software
« Reply #5 on: 01-08-2018 -- 17:02:53 »
I use NI Max and Calibration Executive all the time. I have not had any issues with the software really. There are some little issues I had to figure out over the years, but over all no problems. What exact issues are you having?
You shall do no injustice in judgment, in measurement of length, weight, or volume.Leviticus 19:35

Offline briansalomon

  • 5-level
  • ***
  • Posts: 222
  • Action Taken: +4/-1
    • Email
Re: National Instruments Software
« Reply #6 on: 01-09-2018 -- 17:38:41 »
Mine hangs up and freezes on a regular basis requiring a call to customer service which results in several hours of effort inorder to resolve the issue each time.

The last time this happened I ended up returning the instrument to NI for calibration and they found nothing wrong with it, this after about 4 hours total effort to resolve the problem with NI customer support.

I am seeing these issues with 3 different PCs all meeting the minimum hardware/OS requirement and 3 different NI chassis with different cables...

Offline silv3rstr3

  • 5-level
  • ***
  • Posts: 184
  • Action Taken: +4/-2
  • USMC (6492) Precision Measurement Equipment Chief
    • Email
Re: National Instruments Software
« Reply #7 on: 01-15-2018 -- 14:56:13 »
I use the cDAQ-9188 to calibrate modules frequently.  I have to plug the mainframe and my computer into a router.  Then in NI Max I go to network devices and click on add device.  When the mainframe shows up I click on reserve chassis and then the drivers for the modules are installed and they show up in MAX.  If I have to swap in new modules I delete the mainframe out of MAX, close the program, reopen it and start fresh.  Works fine for me on a weekly basis using Windows 7 64bit. 
“They are in front of us, behind us, and we are flanked on both sides by an enemy that out numbers us 29:1. They can’t get away from us now!!”
-Chesty Puller

 


DISCLAIMER:  This site is not an official US Air Force site, it is intended for private use only.  It is not endorsed, in any way, by the US Air Force, the DoD, or any other governmental agency.  Additionally, all information found within this site is just that, it is NOT meant to be used in place of authorized publications.


All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.

All forum content is the property of the respective poster, all the rest © 2004-2017 by PMEL Forum.