* * *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
08-16-2017 -- 15:08:19

Login with username, password and session length

Top 10 Posters

flew-da-coup (1293)
Hawaii596 (978)
USMCPMEL (822)
Hoopty (545)
docbyers (544)
MIRCS (532)
PMEL_DEVIL-DOG (509)
Thraxas (498)
griff61 (494)
CalLabSolutions (463)
Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 18328
  • Total Topics: 3269
  • Online Today: 36
  • Online Ever: 242
  • (04-19-2014 -- 19:20:34)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 29
Total: 29

Author Topic: Rohde & Schwarz RT-ZC20B  (Read 361 times)

Offline silv3rstr3

  • 5-level
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
  • Action Taken: +2/-1
    • Email
Rohde & Schwarz RT-ZC20B
« on: 05-11-2017 -- 20:49:01 »
I am attempting to calibrate one of these newer R&S RT-ZC20B (0.1V/A) current probes.  The calibration data that came with it shows the amplitude accuracy all in voltage.  They listed a 3458A as a standard.  This probe has a unique interface that I can't connect to a DMM.  The second you plug the probe into the R&S oscilloscope it automatically changes all the measure functions to current.  I even tried to use the math function to try and re-scale it with no luck.  I'm thinking there is some sort of probe amplifier box like Tektronix has for theirs.  Not sure but I really don't want to have to ship this to Germany when I have the right standards here.  Any suggestions?
"We're surrounded!  Well that simplifies the problem!!" Chesty Puller

Offline Bryan

  • 5-level
  • ***
  • Posts: 336
  • Action Taken: +10/-4
    • Email
Re: Rohde & Schwarz RT-ZC20B
« Reply #1 on: 05-11-2017 -- 22:30:25 »
The probe delivers a voltage output proportional to the current thru the jaws.  That voltage needs to run in to a 50 ohm impedance meter for accurate measurement.  Shove the female side of a 50 ohm feed thru in there and connect the male end to an adapter for your DMM.  It should deliver 0.1V per amp applied thru the jaws.  That's my guess.

Offline silv3rstr3

  • 5-level
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
  • Action Taken: +2/-1
    • Email
Re: Rohde & Schwarz RT-ZC20B
« Reply #2 on: 05-12-2017 -- 14:02:16 »
I definitely tried that first but it's not a regular BNC connector.  Feed through termination won't fit and the manual says not to hook it up to a regular BNC connector.  I know how to calibrate these.  The interface is something I've never seen and nothing like older current probes made by other manufacturers. 
"We're surrounded!  Well that simplifies the problem!!" Chesty Puller

Offline Hawaii596

  • 7-level
  • ****
  • Posts: 978
  • Action Taken: +15/-3
Re: Rohde & Schwarz RT-ZC20B
« Reply #3 on: 05-12-2017 -- 14:17:53 »
A couple of ideas come to mind... R&S, although they don't have everything on the website, are pretty good at supplying their service manuals that include their calibration procedures, when queried by email.  And in them, I would think, should be the various hookups.

Other than that, if there is not an available procedure that you can convert to what instruments you have, my initial thought would be to characterize the oscilloscope. Not sure how they did it with a 3458A. But We (for example) have the interface fixture for Tek P7xxx series, and a LeCroy fixture for (can't remember model #'s) some of their probes. In them, there is, as I recall, a tap to read a signal level directly. Perhaps that is the case for this R&S probe. Maybe they are using such a fixture, inputting x Amps or milliamps, and reading an output voltage value from a tap on a fixture.
"I often say that when you can measure what you are speaking about, and express it in numbers, you know something about it; but when you cannot measure it, when you cannot express it in numbers, your knowledge is of a meagre and unsatisfactory kind."
Lord Kelvin (1824-1907)
from lecture to the Institute of Civil Engineers, 3 May 1883

Offline silv3rstr3

  • 5-level
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
  • Action Taken: +2/-1
    • Email
Re: Rohde & Schwarz RT-ZC20B
« Reply #4 on: 05-12-2017 -- 14:34:58 »
I'm convinced there is a fixture of some sort for this.  When I wrote this yesterday I was also thinking about a couple weeks ago when I was talking with a Lecroy engineer about a 20kV high voltage probe.  We had to end up sending that one to Germany because there were no published specifications and they actually tested voltage, rise & fall time, and bandwidth all the way up to 20kV.  Had a brain fart and thought they were the same company.  Seems to blur together some times when you work on a wide variety of equipment all the time.  I'll e-mail R&S support and request the service manual.  The user manual is worthless. 
"We're surrounded!  Well that simplifies the problem!!" Chesty Puller

 


DISCLAIMER:  This site is not an official US Air Force site, it is intended for private use only.  It is not endorsed, in any way, by the US Air Force, the DoD, or any other governmental agency.  Additionally, all information found within this site is just that, it is NOT meant to be used in place of authorized publications.


All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.

All forum content is the property of the respective poster, all the rest 2004-2017 by PMEL Forum.